IX Open Fuengirola in Chaparral Golf Club.

Chaparral Golf Club hosted for another year, the IX OPEN DE FUENGIROLA organized by CLUB LA BANDERA together with the city hall of Fuengirola. Celebrating its ninth edition, the competition has by now become a tradition on the coast. Thanks to the collaboration of the team of Chaparral and La Bandera the day was a success both in number of inscriptions and organisation.

Early Saturday morning the players started arriving to the Club for check in and warm up in the Driving range. After receiving their welcome bags, the 110 players approached the golf cars and were then escorted to the starting positions by the staff of Chaparral with the Shot gun start going off at nine o´clock.

Despite the threat of rain and storms, the weather was stable throughout the day and all the players could enjoy the day without any interruptions.
The Individual Stableford competition was played in three mixed categories, first, second and third. The results in the different classifications by categories showed a high level of play despite the demanding design of Chaparral Golf Club that requires focus and concentration throughout the whole round.

In the end, all golfers were of the same opinion. The course was in really good condition, and they could appreciate the improvements that have been carried out in Chaparral, both in course and Club house.

After the competition the players sat down for a three course menu in Chaparral Treetops Restaurant. By the time of the dessert the prize giving ceremony was opened and celebrated by the Mayor of Fuengirola, Mrs. Ana María Mula, Councillor of Sports, Pedro Cuevas, Managing Director of Chaparral, Domingo Gavira, President and Captain of Club La Bandera , Christian Far and Ranjit Tillekeratne. To complete the great day of golf the organizers finished the event with a draw between all participants and a raffle of two huge Christmas baskets.

First category
1. Gary Orr 37 points
2. Maxim Kulykin 33
3. Antonio Alcaide 33
4. Christian Far 32
5. Felix Pinar 32

Second Category
1. José Díaz 43 points
2. Juan Rascado 38
3. Francisco Gómez 38
4. José A. Yánez 37
5. Fco. Barranquero 35

Third Category
1. Enrique Gómez 42 points
2. Timo Salminen 33
3. José Rodriguez 32
4. Klaudia Ilg 31
5 . Robert Gates 31

Photography Ramón García