An intense day began before 8 o’clock in the morning with many participants already waiting outside the caddymaster’s office to collect their cards and head off to the practice range. The popularity of the event was reflected in the waiting list to compete in the tournament, and 112 lucky players were able to enjoy the magnificent course designed by the Picasso of spanish golf, the recently deceased Pepe Gancedo.

The tournament was played under individual stableford rules with four categories: First, second, ladies and scratch, and a large number of local players, especially the club members had their sights trained on winning the trophy due to their local knowledge of the course.

The course on this special occasion was in excellent condition, but not everything was made easy for the players, with flag placements meaning accuracy was required when aiming for the pin.

The outstanding player of the tournament was Manuel Olmo, who swept away the other participants, winning the first category and setting the best stableford result of the year with 46 points off hcp 14.

Manuel also won the scratch category with 76 gross , but the trophy went to José María Gil who along with Daniel Barbero shot a spectacular round of 77 gross, Jose winning by higher hcp.In the second category the fight for first place was intense and Antonio Lafuente and Darius Vignon recorded the same score,37 pts,just pipping Andreas Golop.

In the ladies category, Mercedes Ferrandez triumphed with 37 points, followed by Anna Shult, with Liz Britton, Belen Cruz, Mercedes Espinera and Elvira Rodriguez all tied on 34 points.(As a postscript to the awards ceremony,

Jose Antonio Ramirez won the”Red Lantern” trophy, given to the player with the fewest points on the day.

After the tournament,a prize-giving cocktail and lucky raffle was held in the clubhouse.Many thanks to all the players, partners and friends who joined us during the event and made this day so special.

1.- Manuel Olmo 76 gross
2.- Jose María Gil 77
3- Daniel Barbero 77

First Category Gents
1.- Manuel Olmo 46 pts
2.- Francico Gil 39
3.- José Mª Gil 38
3.- Alexander Yudin 38

1.- Mercedes Ferrandez 37 pts
2.- Anna Shult 36
3.- Liz Britton 34

Second Category Gents
1.- Antonio Lafuente 37 pts
2- Darius Vignon 37
3.- Andreas Golob 36